• Designation: Principal Tuba of the Philadelphia Orchestra

Team Information

Carol Jantsch has been Principal Tuba of the Philadelphia Orchestra since 2006. She won the position during her senior year at the University of Michigan, becoming the first female tuba player to enter the ranks of a major symphony orchestra.

In addition to her duties at the Philadelphia Orchestra, Ms. Jantsch is a renowned tuba soloist. She gives solo recitals regularly and has appeared as a concerto soloist with various ensembles, including the Philadelphia Orchestra, the Columbus Symphony, the St. Petersburg Symphony in Russia, the Henry Mancini Institute Orchestra, and the United States Marine Band.

Ms. Jantsch is in increasing demand as a teacher worldwide, having given master classes in Europe, Asia, and North America. She enjoys working with young musicians, and has been a featured artist at various brass festivals in Finland, Germany, Canada, and the United States. She is on the faculty at the Yale University School of Music and Temple University’s Boyer College of Music.

Ms. Jantsch is an advocate for music education in her community. In 2018, she founded Tubas For Good, a non-profit that provides instruments for students in the Philadelphia School District. Ms. Jantsch coaches music students from the district both through Tubas For Good and through the Philadelphia Orchestra’s All-City program.

Ms. Jantsch enjoys interacting with audiences in a very different way than her orchestra role, as a member of Tubular, a tuba cover band that performs at bars and events. Comprised of tubas, euphoniums, drums, and vocals, Tubular is committed to presenting pop and rock music in a fun and engaging way, while guilefully stretching people’s notions of the capabilities of low brass instruments.

In 2013 she premiered Reflections on the Mississippi, a tuba concerto written for her and the Temple University Symphony Orchestra by Grammy Award-winning composer Michael Daugherty.

• Designation: Tuba solo de l’Orchestre de Philadelphie.

Team Information

Carol Jantsch est Tuba solo de l’Orchestre de Philadelphie depuis 2006. Elle a obtenu ce poste au cours de sa dernière année d’études à l’Université du Michigan et a été la première femme tubiste à faire partie d’un grand orchestre symphonique.
En plus de ses fonctions au sein de l’Orchestre de Philadelphie, Mme Jantsch est une soliste renommée. Elle donne régulièrement des récitals solos et s’est produite comme concertiste avec divers ensembles, dont l’Orchestre de Philadelphie, l’Orchestre symphonique de Columbus, l’Orchestre symphonique de Saint-Pétersbourg, l’Orchestre de l’Institut Henry Mancini et le United States Marine Band.
De plus en plus sollicitée dans le monde comme enseignante, Mme Jantsch a donné des classes de maître en Europe, en Asie et en Amérique du Nord. Elle affectionne le travail avec les jeunes musiciens et a participé à divers festivals de cuivre en Finlande, en Allemagne, au Canada et aux États-Unis. Elle est membre du corps enseignant de l’École de musique de l’Université Yale et du Boyer College of Music de l’Université Temple.

Au sein de sa communauté, Mme Jantsch se porte à la défense de l’éducation musicale. En 2018, elle a fondé Tubas For Good, une association sans but lucratif qui fournit des instruments aux élèves des écoles de Philadelphie. Localement, Mme Jantsch guide les étudiants en musique, tant dans le cadre de Tubas For Good que dans celui du programme All-City de l’Orchestre de Philadelphie.
Afin d’interagir avec le public d’une manière très différente qu’à travers son travail de musicienne d’orchestre, Mme Jantsch fait partie du groupe Tubular, un groupe de tubas qui se produit dans les bars et lors d’événements publics. Composé de tubas, d’euphoniums, de tambours et de voix, Tubular présente, de manière amusante et stimulante, des reprises de titres pop ou rock. Ainsi, le groupe amène subtilement l’auditoire à découvrir tout l’éventail des possibilités des cuivres graves.
En 2013, Mme Jantsch a créé Reflections on the Mississippi, un concerto pour tuba écrit pour elle et pour l’Orchestre symphonique de l’Université Temple par le compositeur Michael Daugherty, lauréat d’un Grammy.