Principal clarinet of the National Arts Centre (NAC) Orchestra since 1985, Kimball Sykes has appeared as soloist with the Orchestra on numerous occasions, including the premiere performance of Vagues Immobiles, a clarinet concerto by Alain Perron commissioned by the NAC Orchestra, and Copland’s Clarinet Concerto. He has also performed concertos with Thirteen Strings, the Honolulu Symphony, and the Auckland Philharmonia.

 

Sykes was a founding member of the Vancouver Wind Trio and has performed at numerous festivals, including the Orford, Ottawa Chamber Music and Music and Beyond festivals. He also performs regularly at home and on tour with the NAC Orchestra Wind Quintet. In 2004 his recording for CBC records of Mozart’s Clarinet Quintet with Pinchas Zukerman and the NAC Orchestra’s principal string players was nominated for a JUNO Award.

 

Born in Vancouver, Sykes studied with Ronald deKant at the University of British Columbia and in 1982 was awarded a Canada Council grant to study with Robert Marcellus in Chicago. He is an Adjunct Professor at the University of Ottawa and is also on faculty at the National Youth Orchestra of Canada and the NAC’s Young Artists Program.

Kimball Sykes est clarinette solo de l’Orchestre du Centre national des arts (CNA) depuis 1985. Il s’est produit avec cet orchestre à maintes reprises comme soliste, notamment dans le Concerto pour clarinette de Copland et lors de la création de Vagues immobiles, un concerto pour clarinette d’Alain Perron commandé par l’Orchestre du CNA. Il a aussi interprété des concertos avec Thirteen Strings, l’Orchestre symphonique d’Honolulu et l’Orchestre philharmonique d’Auckland.

Membre fondateur du Vancouver Wind Trio, M. Sykes a participé à de nombreux festivals, dont celui d’Orford, le Festival de musique de chambre d’Ottawa et le Festival Music and Beyond. Que ce soit à Ottawa ou en tournée, il joue régulièrement avec le Quintette à vent de l’Orchestre du CNA. En 2004, son enregistrement pour Les Disques SRC du Quintette pour clarinette et cordes de Mozart, avec Pinchas Zukerman et les principaux instrumentistes de l’Orchestre du CNA, a été mis en nomination pour un prix JUNO.

Natif de Vancouver, Sykes a étudié avec Ronald deKant à l’Université de Colombie-Britannique. En 1982, il a obtenu une bourse du Conseil des Arts du Canada pour étudier avec Robert Marcellus à Chicago. Il est professeur associé à l’Université d’Ottawa et fait également partie du corps professoral de l’Orchestre national des jeunes du Canada et du Programme des jeunes artistes du CNA.