• Designation: Principal Bassoonist, Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra

Team Information

Principal Bassoonist Nancy Goeres joined the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra in 1984. Prior to Pittsburgh, Goeres held similar positions with the Florida Orchestra, the Caracas Philharmonic, and the Cincinnati Symphony.
Ms. Goeres also serves on the faculties of Carnegie Mellon University and Boston University and the music festivals of Aspen and Sarasota.
In addition to her appearances with the Pittsburgh Symphony, she has been a member of the All Star Orchestra, conducted by Gerard Schwartz, which produced a multi-disc set of recordings of major orchestral repertoire. She has also performed at leading festivals around the country including Tanglewood, Marlboro, La Jolla and Mainly Mozart festivals, New York’s 92nd Street Y Series, Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival, Music in The Vineyards (CA) Philharmonic of the Americas (Mexico City) Instrumental Verano (Puebla, Mexico) and the Internationale Wolfegger Konzerte (Germany) Germany.
Alan Fletcher’s Concerto for Bassoon and Orchestra, commissioned by the Pittsburgh Symphony, was premiered by Goeres and conducted by Manfred Honeck in 2011. She subsequently performed the concerto with the Aspen Chamber Symphony in summer 2012. Also written for her, was Andre Previn’s Sonata for Bassoon, and premiered by her with the composer at the 92nd Street Y in New York.
An active teacher, Goeres has given master classes and recitals in Europe, Canada, Mexico, and South America, and returns frequently to China. In the United States, she often works with the students of the New World Symphony in Miami Beach, and, among others, has given classes at the Juilliard School, the Curtis Institute of Music, the Manhattan School of Music, Northwestern University, University of Michigan, and Fresno State University.

• Designation: Basson solo, Orchestre symphonique de Pittsburgh

Team Information

Nancy Goeres est devenue membre de l’Orchestre symphonique de Pittsburgh en 1984 et y occupe la chaise de Basson solo. Auparavant, Mme Goeres a détenu des postes similaires au sein de l’Orchestre de Floride, de l’Orchestre philharmonique de Caracas et de l’Orchestre symphonique de Cincinnati.
Mme Goeres fait également partie du corps professoral de l’Université Carnegie Mellon et de l’Université de Boston, ainsi que des festivals de musique d’Aspen et de Sarasota.
Outre ses prestations avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Pittsburgh, elle a été membre du All Star Orchestra, dirigé par Gerard Schwartz, qui a publié un coffret de plusieurs disques consacrés au grand répertoire d’orchestre. Elle s’est également produite dans les principaux festivals d’Amérique et d’Europe : Tanglewood, Marlboro, La Jolla et Mainly Mozart, les 92nd Street Y Series de New York, le festival de musique de chambre de Santa Fe, Music in The Vineyards (Californie), Philharmonic of the Americas (Mexico), Instrumental Verano (Puebla, Mexique) et l’Internationale Wolfegger Konzerte (Allemagne).
En 2011, Nancy Goeres a créé, sous la direction de Manfred Honeck, le Concerto pour basson et orchestre d’Alan Fletcher, une commande de l’Orchestre symphonique de Pittsburgh. Elle a ensuite interprété ce même concerto avec l’Aspen Chamber Symphony à l’été 2012. La Sonate pour basson d’Andre Previn a également été composée pour elle et c’est avec le compositeur au piano qu’elle créa l’œuvre au 92nd Street Y à New York.
Enseignante active, Mme Goeres a donné des classes de maître et des récitals en Europe, au Canada, au Mexique, en Amérique du Sud et en Chine, où elle retourne fréquemment. Aux États-Unis, elle travaille souvent avec les étudiants de l’Orchestre symphonique du Nouveau Monde à Miami Beach. Elle a, en autres, donné des cours à la Juilliard School, au Curtis Institute of Music, à la Manhattan School of Music, à la l’Université Northwestern, à l’Université du Michigan et à l’Université Fresno State.