• Designation: trumpet

Team Information

Paul Merkelo is renowned as one of the finest trumpeters of the international stage. He is noted for his ability to create ambiance, personality and drama in everything he plays. He has been described in Gramophone magazine as possessing “unusual lyrical gifts,” while the German news website Der Spiegel has stated that “Paul Merkelo knows no limits.”

As Principal Trumpet with the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM) since 1995, he has performed on various international tours, including in Europe, Latin America and more recently at the Lincoln Center in New York, in connection with the OSM’s tour of the United States.

Paul Merkelo began his career as Principal Trumpet with the Rochester Philharmonic and the New Orleans Symphony (since renamed the Louisiana Philharmonic Orchestra). He made his New York debut in 1998 at the Lincoln Center with the New World Symphony Orchestra under the great American composer and pianist Michael Tilson Thomas, in the orchestral American premiere of Franz Waxman’s Carmen Fantasie.

With numerous prestigious conductors including Leonard Bernstein, Charles Dutoit,
Lorin Maazel, Zubin Mehta, Sir Georg Solti and Valery Gergiev, Paul Merkelo has performed in Canada, Russia, China, Australia, Japan, Portugal, Brazil, Venezuela, Peru, France, and Thailand.

Paul Merkelo teaches at the Music Academy of the West in Santa Barbara, California, and at the Schulich School of Music of McGill University in Montreal. He is a member of the Board of Directors of the Youth Orchestra of the Americas (Canada), and established the Paul Merkelo Scholarship, which provides financial assistance for young emerging Canadian musicians.

• Designation: trompette

Team Information

Paul Merkelo est reconnu comme l’un des meilleurs trompettistes de la scène musicale internationale. L’ambiance, le caractère et la théâtralité qu’il sait créer dans toutes ses prestations lui ont valu bien des éloges. Selon le magazine Gramophone, il possède un « talent lyrique peu commun ». Le magazine allemand Der Spiegel affirme que « Paul Merkelo ne connaît aucune limite ».

Trompette solo à l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM) depuis 1995, il participe à plusieurs tournées internationales, notamment en Europe, en Amérique latine et plus récemment, au Lincoln Center de New York dans le cadre d’une tournée de l’OSM aux États-Unis.

Paul Merkelo a amorcé sa carrière en tant que Trompette solo avec le Rochester Philharmonic et le New Orleans Symphony Orchestra (aujourd’hui, Louisiana Philharmonic Orchestra). Il fait ses débuts à New York en 1998 au Lincoln Center avec le New World Symphony Orchestra dirigé par le compositeur, chef d’orchestre et pianiste américain de grande renommée, Michael Tilson Thomas, lors de la première américaine de Carmen Fantasie de Franz Waxman.

Sous la direction de chefs prestigieux tels que Leonard Bernstein, Charles Dutoit, Lorin Maazel, Zubin Mehta, Sir Georg Solti et Valery Gergiev, il s’est produit au Canada, en Russie, en Chine, en Australie, au Japon, au Portugal, au Brésil, au Venezuela, au Pérou, en France et en Thaïlande.

Paul Merkelo enseigne à la Music Academy of the West à Santa Barbara, en Californie et à l’École de musique Schulich de l’Université McGill, à Montréal. Il est membre du conseil d’administration du Youth Orchestra of the Americas (Canada), et a institué la Bourse Paul Merkelo pour venir en aide les jeunes musiciens canadiens de la relève.