• Designation: Horn

Team Information

Sarah Willis began playing the horn at school, aged 14, and then attended the Royal College of Music Junior Department. She went on to study full time at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama, where her teachers included Anthony Halstead and Jeff Bryant. She later studied with Fergus McWilliam in Berlin, where she became 2nd Horn in the Berlin State Opera under Daniel Barenboim in 1991.

In 2001, Sarah joined the Berlin Philharmonic, becoming the first female member of the brass section. As well as her work with the orchestra and her masterclasses, which take her all over the world, she has recorded various acclaimed albums including the Brahms Horn Trio, Horn Discoveries, the Rosetti Double Horn Concertos as well as the much celebrated CDs, Opera! and Four Corners! with the Berlin Philharmonic Horns. Her latest solo album, Mozart y Mambo was recorded in Havana in January 2020.

Sarah is involved in many of the Berlin Philharmonic education projects and especially enjoys creating and presenting their Family Concerts. She interviews conductors and soloists for the Digital Concert Hall.

Sarah is passionate about music education and makes full use of digital technology and social media to reach audiences worldwide. She was chosen to be one of the first testers of Google Glass and used this experience to see how new technology could be used in classical music.

Sarah runs a popular series of online interviews known as Horn Hangouts, is a regular broadcaster and interviewer on TV and online and fronts the classical music programme Sarah’s Music for Deutsche Welle TV. She moderates the DG International Podcast series for Deutsche Grammophon and her latest documentary film, A World without Beethoven? was broadcast worldwide in September 2020 on Deutsche Welle TV.

• Designation: Cor

Team Information

Sarah a commencé à jouer du cor à l’âge de 14 ans, à l’école. Elle a ensuite fréquenté le Royal College of Music Junior Department. Puis elle a étudié à plein temps à la Guildhall School of Music and Drama avec Anthony Halstead et Jeff Bryant, avant de travailler avec Fergus McWilliam à Berlin où elle est devenue, en 1991, Deuxième cor à l’Opéra d’État de Berlin dirigé par Daniel Barenboim.

En 2001, Sarah Willis a rejoint la Philharmonie de Berlin, ce qui faisait d’elle la première femme à intégrer la section des cuivres. Outre son travail avec la Philharmonie, elle donne des classes de maître dans le monde entier. Elle a enregistré plusieurs albums louangés par la critique, dont le Trio pour piano, violon et cor de Brahms, le disque Horn Discoveries, les concertos pour deux cors de Rosetti, ainsi que les très célèbres disques Opera! et Four Corners! enregistrés avec les cors de la Philharmonie de Berlin. Son dernier album solo, Mozart y Mambo, a été enregistré à La Havane en janvier 2020.

 

Sarah participe à de nombreux projets éducatifs de la Philharmonie de Berlin et aime particulièrement concevoir et présenter des concerts pour la série Family Concerts. De plus, elle interviewe des chefs d’orchestre et des solistes pour la série Digital Concert Hall.

Sarah est passionnée par l’éducation musicale et utilise pleinement la technologie numérique et les médias sociaux pour rejoindre le public du monde entier. Elle a été choisie pour être l’un des premiers évaluateurs de Google Glass et a profité de cette expérience pour explorer l’apport des nouvelles technologies à la musique classique.

Sarah mène une populaire série d’interviews diffusée sur la Toile et connue sous le nom de Horn Hangouts. Elle est régulièrement interviewée à la télévision et sur l’internet. Elle anime l’émission de musique classique Sarah’s Music pour la chaîne Deutsche Welle TV, ainsi que la série DG International Podcast, pour Deutsche Grammophon. Son dernier film documentaire, A World without Beethoven?, a été diffusé dans le monde entier via Deutsche Welle TV, en septembre 2020.