• Designation: Principal Clarinetist of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Team Information

Stephen Williamson is Principal Clarinetist of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra under Maestro Riccardo Muti. Mr. Williamson was formerly Principal Clarinetist of both the New York Philharmonic as well the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra. In addition, he has been a frequent guest principal clarinetist with the Saito Kinen Festival Orchestra in Japan under Seiji Ozawa.
Mr. Williamson is currently on faculty at DePaul University and the Pacific Music Festival. He has served on the faculty at Columbia University and the Mannes College of Music. Mr. Williamson was a featured soloist with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra under the baton of John Williams, recording his Oscar-nominated score for Steven Spielberg’s film, “Lincoln.”

An avid soloist and chamber musician, Mr. Williamson has performed extensively in the United States, Europe, and Asia. He has collaborated with such artists as: James Levine, Yo-Yo Ma, Mitsuko Uchida, Jeffrey Kahane, Anne Marie McDermott, Emanuel Ax, Meliora Winds, Aspen, Dorian, and Sylvan Wind Quintets; Brentano, American, Jasper, Brasilia and Dover String Quartets. A new release of a recording on Sony Classical of Stravinsky’s “A Soldiers Tale” with narration by Roger Waters of the legendary rock band Pink Floyd has received critical acclaim and has topped the charts in the UK and in Europe.

In June of 2019, Mr. Williamson was honored to represent the USA as one of three invited clarinetists to be on the jury of the famed Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow and St. Petersburg. This is the first time in history that the competition has been opened to winds and brass.

• Designation: Clarinette solo à l’Orchestre symphonique de Chicago

Team Information

Stephen Williamson est Clarinette solo à l’Orchestre symphonique de Chicago sous la direction de maestro Riccardo Mutti. M. Williamson occupait auparavant le même poste à l’Orchestre philharmonique de New York ainsi qu’à l’Orchestre du Metropolitan Opera. En outre, il a été fréquemment invité comme Clarinette solo à l’Orchestre du Festival Saito Kinen, au Japon, sous la direction de Seiji Ozawa.

M. Williamson est actuellement professeur à l’Université DePaul et au Pacific Music Festival. Il a été membre du corps professoral de l’Université Columbia et du Mannes College of Music. M. Williamson a été soliste vedette de l’Orchestre symphonique de Chicago placé sous la direction de John Williams, lors de l’enregistrement de la musique du film Lincoln de Steven Spielberg, musique composée par Williams et mise en nomination aux Oscars.

Soliste et chambriste enthousiaste, M. Williamson s’est beaucoup produit aux États-Unis, en Europe et en Asie. Il a collaboré avec des artistes réputés tels que James Levine, Yo-Yo Ma, Mitsuko Uchida, Jeffrey Kahane, Anne Marie McDermott et Emanuel Ax, avec les quintettes à vent Meliora Winds, Aspen, Dorian et Sylvan, ainsi qu’avec les quatuors à cordes Brentano, American, Jasper, Brasilia et Dover. Un nouvel enregistrement Sony Classical de L’Histoire du soldat de Stravinsky, avec Roger Waters à la narration et la participation du légendaire groupe rock Pink Floyd, a été encensé par la critique et s’est hissé en tête des palmarès au Royaume-Uni et en Europe.

En juin 2019, M. Williamson a eu l’honneur de représenter les États-Unis au célèbre concours Tchaïkovski à Moscou et à Saint-Pétersbourg où il était invité, avec deux autres clarinettistes, à faire partie du jury. C’était la toute première fois que ce concours accueillait les bois et les cuivres.