The competition winners

First prize :

  • Barbara Bronfman Prize – $20,000
    The OSM Competition First Prize is named in memory of Barbara Bronfman – a lover of music and dear patron of the OSM. Thanks to her legacy gift, generations of talented young musicians will be supported in the launch of their careers and provided with the opportunity to perform with the OSM for the first time.
  • OSM Invitation Prize
    Invitations for three performances in the OSM programmation: Virée Classique 2023, recitals and/or chamber music.
  • Queen Elisabeth Music Chapelle prize (Belgium)
    A residency at the Chapelle during the 2023-2024 season offered by Mrs. Marina Gusti.
  • ICI Musique prize
    A professional audio recording and the broadcast of this recording on ICI Musique.
  • McGill University – Schulich School of Music Scholarship
    A scholarship covering tuition for a degree in a performance program at the Schulich School of Music of McGill University.

Second prize :

  • $12,000 prize offered in collaboration by the Marjorie and Gerald Bronfman Foundation and the Lambert-Gagnon-Fortier Estate.

Third prize :

  • $7,500 prize offered by the Paul A. Fournier Fund.

Complementary prizes

  • Prize for best interpretation of a Canadian work: Godwin Friesen
    $3,000 prize offered by the OSM Volunteer’s Association
  • J.S. Bach Special Round Prize: Jaeden Izik-Dzurko
    $5,000 prize offered by Mrs. Juliana Pleines
  • Orford Musique prize: Hamilton Lau, Jean-Christophe Melançon, Jessica Yuma
    $5,000 prize offered by Mrs. Juliana Pleines
  • Domaine Forget prize: Godwin Friesen, Jonathan Mak, Victoria Wong
    Three scholarships including accommodation for an advanced training program at the International Music and Dance Academy at Domaine Forget in 2023.
  • The Orchestra of the Americas Group Prize: Victoria Wong
    Scholarship for the 2023 Gabriela Montero Piano Lab by OAcademy Global Music Conservatory, an initiative of The Orchestra of the Americas Group. A personalised one-on-one Artist Diploma with the renowned pianist. This prize is generously offered with the support of the Ariane Riou and Réal Plourde Foundation.
  • Michelle Paré Prize: Jaeden Izik-Dzurko
    $5,000 prize recognizing a candidate’s commitment to the community in promoting music and making it accessible to all. This prize is offered by Mr. Jean Paré.
  • Stingray Rising Stars – Audience award: Jean-Christophe Melançon
    $2,500 prize offered to the candidate who will get the most votes on the web.
  • Young Audience Award: Jean-Christophe Melançon
    $2,500 prize offered by Les Amis de l’Art Fund to the candidate who will get the most votes from students in participating schools.
  • Semifinalits prizes
    $500 prizes offered by the OSM Musician’s Association for the 7 non finalists candidates.