The competition winners

First prize : Leland Ko

  • Barbara Bronfman Prize – $20,000
    The OSM Competition First Prize is named in memory of Barbara Bronfman – a lover of music and dear patron of the OSM. Thanks to her legacy gift, generations of talented young musicians will be supported in the launch of their careers and provided with the opportunity to perform with the OSM for the first time.
  • OSM Invitation Prize
    Offered by Canimex, invitations for three performances in the OSM programmation: Virée Classique 2024, recitals and/or chamber music.
  • Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel prize (Belgium)
    A residency at the Chapel during the 2024-2025 season offered by Marina Gusti.
  • ICI Musique prize
    As part of the first prize, ICI Musique will broadcast the winner’s recital (captured during the semi-finals), as well as a portrait of the artist. This portrait will also be broadcast in the form of capsules in several segments on the digital radio station ICI MUSIQUE Classique.
  • McGill University – Schulich School of Music Scholarship
    A scholarship covering tuition for a degree in a performance program at the Schulich School of Music of McGill University.

Second prize : Justin Saulnier

  • $12,000 prize offered in collaboration by the Marjorie and Gerald Bronfman Fund and the Lambert-Gagnon-Fortier Estate.

Third prize : Emad Zolfaghari

  • $7,500 prize offered bu the Paul A. Fournier Fund.

Other prizes

  • Prize for best interpretation of a Canadian work : Tiffany Yeung
    $3,000 prize offered by the OSM Volunteer Association.
  • J.S. Bach Special Round Prize : Leland Ko
    $5,000 prize offerd by Mrs. Dixi Lambert.
  • Michèle Paré Prize : Tiffany Yeung
    $5,000 prize recognizing a candidate’s commitment to the community in promoting music and making it accessible to all. This prize is offered by Mr. Jean Paré.
  • Orchestra of the Americas Prize : Leland Ko
    Full Tuition Fellowship within the 2024 OAcademy, an innovative 12-month orchestral training program offered online to 50 exceptional rising musicians from 25+ countries in alliance with The Royal Concertgebouw, The MET Opera, The Curtis Institute of Music, Bard College Conservatory, National Arts Centre Orchestra Canada & The Global Leaders Program. This prize is generously offered with the support of the Ariane Riou and Réal Plourde Foundation.
  • Orford Music award : Romain-Olivier Gray, Grace Sohn & Tiffany Yeung
    Three scholarships covering tuition and accommodation for a two-week music session at Orford Music in 2024.
  • Domaine Forget award : Justin Saulnier, Tiffany Yeung & Emad Zolfaghari
    Three scholarships covering tuition and accommodation for one week of advanced training program at Domaine Forget during 2024.
  • Stingray Rising Stars Award – Audience award : Emad Zolfaghari
    $2,500 prize offered to the candidate who will get the most votes on the web.
  • Young Audience Award : William Deslauriers-Allain
    $2,500 prize offered to the candidate who will get the most votes from students in participating schools by the Fonds Les Amis de l’Art.
  • Air Canada Prizes
    A $1,000 gift card was awarded to the 10 semifinalists
  • Semifinalits prizes : William Deslauriers-Allain, Romain-Olivier Gray, Sua Kwoun, Duncan McDougall, Grace Sohn, Michael Song & Tiffany Yeung
    $500 prizes offered to the 7 non finalists candidates offered by the OSM Musicians Association.